Belcher Award

For decades William S. “Bill” Belcher – the first All Children’s Hospital Chairman of the Board – was a tireless advocate for the hospital and its patients. Bill and his fellow Board members and administrators, in office when All Children’s Hospital opened its doors at the Sixth Street site in 1967, did much to establish the reputation that All Children’s currently enjoys in the community. Not only did they ensure that the hospital would care for all children regardless of race, creed or ability to pay, they also foresaw a day when All Children’s would become a regional center for the best in pediatric care.

When Bill Belcher died in 1992, All Children’s lost a dear friend and tireless community advocate. The Belcher Award at All Children’s was created upon Belcher’s death to honor his legacy of leadership, commitment and passionate advocacy in the name of our patients. It is the highest honor awarded by the All Children’s Hospital Foundation and past recipients have worked hard to live up to those the standards set by Belcher.


Past Belcher Award Recipients

 2016  Tom Dorety
 2014  Bill Edwards
 2012  Allen Root, M.D.
 2010  Robert C. Decker
 2009  Darryl LeClair
 2008  Dr. Frank & Mrs. Sandy Diamond
 2007  Roberto Sosa, M.D.
 2006  Betty Willis
 2005  Mark and Marianne Mahaffey
 2004  Louie Adcock
 2003  Joseph W. Fleece, Jr.
 2002  J. Dennis Sexton
 2001  Evelyn Felsen
 2000  Dick Crippen
 1999  Jerry Barbosa, M.D.
 1998  Edward Ameen
 1997  The Honorable C.W. (Bill) Young
 1996  Claudia Sokolowski
 1995  Thelma and Maurice Rothman
 1994  Eleanor Speakman
 1993  Mary Lina Belcher