Contact Us  

Mark your Calendars!

The Walk to School Day dates for 2015, 2016 and 2017 have been set:

  • October 7, 2015
  • October 5, 2016
  • October 4, 2017

Contact a Safe Routes to School representative in your county for more information. 

International Walk to School Day

Safe Routes to School, led by Johns Hopkins All Children's Hospital, are making a difference to reduce the number of child pedestrian deaths and injuries in our communities. International Walk to School day is a fun and interactive way to promote walking to school safely. This one-day event which involves communities from more than 40 countries began in 1997. Over time, it has become part of a movement for year-round safe routes to school. Today, thousands of schools across America - from all 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico - participate every October.

For additional planning and outreach tools visit

2016 International Walk to School Day List

Charlotte County
Vineland Elementary School

Collier County
Pinecrest Elementary
Seagate Elementary
Hernando County
Explorer K-8 School

Lee County
Franklin Park Elementary
Bonita Springs Elementary

Manatee County
Braden River Elementary

Pasco County
Calusa Elementary
Dayspring Academy
Deer Park Elementary
Gulf Trace Elementary
Gulfside Elementary
Longleaf Elementary
New River Elementary
Oakstead Elementary
Quail Hollow Elementary
River Ridge Middle School
Seven Oaks Elementary
Trinity Oaks Elementary 
Watergrass Elementary
Pinellas County
Anona Elementary
Azalea Elementary
Bay Point Elementary
Belcher Elementary
Blanton Elementary
East Lake Middle
Eisenhower Elementary
Garrison-Jones Elementary
Gulf Beaches Elementary
Gulfport Elementary
Highland Lakes Elementary
Lealman Elementary
Leila Davis Elementary
Maximo Elementary
McMullen Booth Elementary
Melrose Elementary
Mildred Helms Elementary
Northwest Elementary
Oldsmar Elementary
Orange Grove Elementary
Pinellas Central Elementary
Ponce de Leon Elementary
Ridgecrest Elementary
Safety Harbor Elementary
San Jose Elementary
Walsingham Elementary
Westgate Elementary
Polk County
Dixieland Elementary
​Scott Lake Elementary
​Gibbons Street Elementary
Lake Alfred Elementary
Wahneta Elementary
​Phillip O'Brien Elementary

For additional information, sign-ups or volunteer opportunities please email Tiffany Sabiel at

Judge Karl Grube Award

The Judge Karl Grube "Extra Mile" award will be given to a school that demonstrates outstanding achievement in its participation in the Safe Routes to School International Walk to School Day Initiative. In order to be selected for the award, you must meet the following criteria:

  • Participates in International Walk to School Day and continue annually
  • Implements a walking school bus program, bike train, or a program that continues to promote pedestrian/bicycle safety education
  • Partakes in student education on pedestrian/bicycle safety programs annually
  • Implements pedestrian/bicycle safety related activities or programs that are student-initiated or students-directed PSA, Ect.
  • Provides follow-up opportunities for bicycle/pedestrian safety activities
  • Demonstrates outstanding ability to relate bicycle and pedestrian safety information to its student body in an engaging manner for lasting benefit